close menu

British subject passports

Prior to 1 January 1949, the primary form of British nationality was that of a British subject.

British subject status was given to those born within the British Crown’s dominions and, broadly speaking, most British subjects will have become citizens of the UK and colonies (CUKC) or citizens of independent Commonwealth countries in 1949. Those that didn't became British subjects without citizenship.

South Africa

Regent Square
Doncaster Road
Kenilworth 7708
Cape Town
t: +27 (0) 21 657 2120

United Kingdom

Castlewood House
77/91 New Oxford Street
t: +44 (0) 20 7759 7514


Suite 8.06
9 Yarra Street
South Yarra
Melbourne VIC 3141
t: +613 (0) 86 514 500

Hong Kong

Level 1102
The Lee Gardens
33 Hysan Avenue
Causeway Bay, Hong Kong
t: +852 3959 8681

This site uses cookies, read more or close this notice.