close menu

Former British territories

The former British Empire spanned 127 different territories and, at one time, ruled over a third of the world’s population. The decolonisation process in the last century meant that many old forms of British nationality were passed down from one generation to the next and are still available today as a result.

Get to know what type of territory is relevant to your claim to British nationality

Before you can be sure that you do or do not have a claim to British nationality you’ll need to do some investigating into what part of the world you or your ancestors were born in. Below is a list of the various types of territories that were once under the control of the British Empire in one way or another.

Each type of territory has particular and complex effects on your potential claim to British nationality.


Find out what different types of British territories mean for you

South Africa

Cape Town
Regent Square
Doncaster Road
Kenilworth 7708
t: +27 (0) 21 657 2120

201 The Annex
Ridgeside Office Park
t: +27 (0) 31 536 8843

United Kingdom

Castlewood House
77/91 New Oxford Street
t: +44 (0) 20 7759 7514

5-7 Selsdon Road
South Croydon
t: +44 (0) 20 7759 7581


Suite 8.06
9 Yarra Street
South Yarra
Melbourne VIC 3141
t: +613 (0) 86 514 500

This site uses cookies, read more or close this notice.