close menu

British overseas territories

These territories are current British overseas territories from their formation on 1 January 1983.

Those with family links to a British overseas territory will probably become a British overseas territories citizen (BOTC).

In the case of Hong Kong before 1 July 1997, residents could (in some circumstances) register as British nationals overseas (BNO).

Full list of British overseas territories


  • Gibraltar

The Americas

  • Falkland Islands
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands


  • Hong Kong
  • Kowloon (now part of Hong Kong)
  • New Territories (now part of Hong Kong)

The Caribbean

  • Anguilla   
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • St Christopher, St Kitts and Nevis
  • Turks and Caicos


  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia UK Cyprus military bases

Other territories

  • Antarctic Territory
  • British Overseas Territories
  • British Indian Ocean Territory (Chagos)
  • St Helena Ascension Gough and Tristan da Cunha


South Africa

Cape Town

Regent Square
Doncaster Road
Kenilworth 7708 +27 (0) 21 657 2120


201 The Annex
Ridgeside Office Park
Umhlanga +27 (0) 31 536 8843

United Kingdom


Castlewood House
77/91 New Oxford Street
WC1A 1DG +44 (0) 20 7759 7514


5-7 Selsdon Road
South Croydon
CR2 6PU +44 (0) 20 7759 7581



9 Yarra Street
South Yarra
VIC 3141 +613 (0) 8651 4500

Sable International is a trading name of 1st Contact Money Limited (company number 07070528), registered in England and Wales. We are authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority in the UK (FCA no. 517570), the Financial Services Conduct Authority in South Africa (1st Contact Money [PTY] Ltd - FSP no. 41900) and hold an Australian Financial Services License issued by ASIC to deal in foreign exchange (1st Contact Group - AFS License number 335 126).

Please note: Sable International is a trading name of Philip Gamble and Co. Ltd. Philip Gamble and Co. Ltd is registered in the UK with the Office of the Immigration Service Commissioner (OISC) under no. F2001-00004. Our staff based outside of the UK are not regulated by the OISC and may be involved in some client casework. However, they work to the same high standards as our UK staff and clients receive the same service regardless of which office they engage with.

This site uses cookies, read more or close this notice.