close menu

British protected states

These countries and territories were former British protected states.

You may be eligible for British citizenship

Birth (or descent from a father born) in a former British protected state granted British protected person (BPP) status. Depending on the independence day arrangements and how nationality of the newly independent country was granted, this status could be retained in some cases.

If this status was retained, it was (and is) also possible in some circumstances to upgrade this status to full British nationality in the modern day, or to pass down this status one generation from father to child.

British protected states were:

  • Bahrain
  • Brunei
  • India
  • Kuwait
  • Malay States (now part of Malaysia)
  • Maldives
  • North Borneo and Labuan (now part of Malaysia)
  • Qatar
  • Sarawak (now part of Malaysia)
  • Swaziland
  • Tonga
  • United Arab Emirates

South Africa

Regent Square
Doncaster Road
Kenilworth 7708
Cape Town
t: +27 (0) 21 657 2120

United Kingdom

Castlewood House
77/91 New Oxford Street
t: +44 (0) 20 7759 7514


Suite 8.06
9 Yarra Street
South Yarra
Melbourne VIC 3141
t: +613 (0) 86 514 500

Hong Kong

Level 1102
The Lee Gardens
33 Hysan Avenue
Causeway Bay, Hong Kong
t: +852 3959 8681

This site uses cookies, read more or close this notice.