close menu

British protectorates with ETJ

These countries and territories were former British protectorates where the Crown exercised extra-territorial jurisdiction.

Birth (or descent from a father born) in a former British Protectorate granted British protected person (BPP) status.Depending on the independence day arrangements and how nationality of the newly independent country was granted, this status could be retained in some cases.

If this status was retained, it was (and is) also possible in some circumstances to upgrade this status to full British nationality in the modern day, or to pass down this status one generation from father to child.

British protectorates with extra-territorial jurisdiction (ETJ) were found in Europe, Africa and the Arabian Peninsula:


  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia UK Cyprus military bases
  • Ionian Islands (now part of Greece)
  • Cyprus


  • Ashanti (now part of Ghana)
  • Barotseland (now part of Zambia)
  • Bechuanaland (now Botswana)
  • Bunyoro
  • Egypt
  • Gambia Protectorate (now part of Gambia)
  • Gilbert Islands (now part of Kiribati)
  • Kenya Protectorate (Jubaland Kismayu and Port Durnford)
  • Kenya Protectorate (Lamu Patta and Strip)
  • Kiribati
  • Maldives
  • Nigeria Protectorates (now part of Nigeria)
  • Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia)
  • Northern Somaliland (now part of Somalia)
  • Northern Territories Protectorate (now part of Ghana)
  • Nyasaland (now Malawi)
  • Sierra Leone Protectorate (now part of Sierra Leone)
  • Solomon Islands
  • Swaziland
  • Transvaal (now part of South Africa)
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Zanzibar (now part of Tanzania)

Arabian Peninsula

  • Aden Protectorates (now part of Yemen)
  • Kamaran (now part of Yemen)

South Africa

Cape Town
Regent Square
Doncaster Road
Kenilworth 7708
t: +27 (0) 21 657 2120

201 The Annex
Ridgeside Office Park
t: +27 (0) 31 536 8843

United Kingdom

Castlewood House
77/91 New Oxford Street
t: +44 (0) 20 7759 7514

5-7 Selsdon Road
South Croydon
t: +44 (0) 20 7759 7581


Suite 8.06
9 Yarra Street
South Yarra
Melbourne VIC 3141
t: +613 (0) 86 514 500

This site uses cookies, read more or close this notice.